HowToForums.net Forum Index HowToForums.net
An Open Source of Knowledge
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

HowTo install rdesktop 1.5 including SeamLess Windows

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    HowToForums.net Forum Index -> Linux Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jacob
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 16 Mar 2006
Posts: 73
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 2:03 am    Post subject: HowTo install rdesktop 1.5 including SeamLess Windows Reply with quote

HowTo install rdesktop1.5 (Remote Desktop) including SeamLess Windows and much more..
posted at: http://howtoforums.net/viewtopic.php?t=52

Hungry for "citrix" like capabilities with rdesktop...
Want to be able to run your windows application from your linux box in a seamless window...
Want rdesktop to copy/paste, mount your drives and run sound localy...
Well here it is...
Rdesktop 1.5.0-rc1 + Seamlessrdp is all that and more...

Here are some appetizer screenshots before we get going:
Ubuntu 6.06 Dapperr + XGL + Compiz + KDE + rdesktop-1.5.0-rc1 + seamlessrdp on windows 2003 tsv on VMware-Server
Screenshot 1: explorer-about
Screenshot 2: explorer-www
Screenshot 3: mspaint-notepad-calc
Screenshot 4: oulook-cal
Screenshot 5: outlook-file
Screenshot 6: outlook-help
Screenshot 7: outlook-msg
Screenshot 8: wmplayer-about.png
Screenshot 9: wmplayer-lib.png
Screenshot 10: wmplayer-www


Your gonna need the compiling tools, so if you don't already have them then:
Code:

sudo apt-get install build-essential


On your Ubuntu:
Code:

sudo apt-get install rdesktop openssl libssl-dev libx11-dev
wget http://howtoforums.net/downloads/rdesktop-1.5.0-rc1.tar.bz2
tar -xjf rdesktop-1.5.0-rc1.tar.bz2
cd rdesktop-1.5.0-rc1
./configure
make
echo "backup rdesktop original";sudo cp -vp /usr/bin/rdesktop /usr/bin/rdesktop1.4BKUP
sudo mv /usr/bin/rdesktop /usr/bin/rdesktop1.4
sudo make install
sudo chmod +x /usr/local/bin/rdesktop
sudo ln -s /usr/local/bin/rdesktop /usr/bin/rdesktop


Validate the install:
Code:

rdesktop 2>&1 | grep Version


You should see something like this:
Quote:

Version 1.5.0-rc1. Copyright (C) 1999-2005 Matt Chapman.



On your Windows Terminal Server
download:
http://howtoforums.net/downloads/seamlessrdp.zip

Unpack the files to some directory on the server, such as c:\seamlessrdp.


Now on your Ubuntu connect with:
Code:

rdesktop -A -s "c:\seamlessrdp\seamlessrdpshell.exe notepad" servername


I have tested this with the following applications as well:
Microsoft Outlook with disk mapping & sound (save your attchments localy & play sound for notification Wink ):
Code:

rdesktop '-rdisk 'home'=/home/jacob' -rsound -A -s "c:\seamlessrdp\seamlessrdpshell.exe C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\OFFICE11\OUTLOOK.EXE" servername


Internet Explorer:
Code:

rdesktop -A -s "c:\seamlessrdp\seamlessrdpshell.exe C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe" servername


Windows Media Player with sound:
Code:

rdesktop -rsound -A -s "c:\seamlessrdp\seamlessrdpshell.exe wmplayer" servername


Now if you wanna take it one step further...
You can download and install VMware-Server to run your windows instance in the backround...
you can reffer to this guide for that as well...
http://howtoforums.net/viewtopic.php?t=5
(it's on Breezy but can work with slight modification on Dapper too...I hope to update it asap)

--BIG thanks to the guys at http://www.rdesktop.org and http://www.cendio.com/seamlessrdp

rdesktop tested with Ubuntu 6.06 Dapper
seamlessrdp server tested with windows 2003


For Search Engines:
Seamless Remote Desktop Connection
Seamless rdp
seamlessrdp
Seamless citrix
remote desktop SeamLess Windows
rdp seamless
citrix seamless windows
citrix vs rdp


--
Jacob
Linux -- Breaking All Boundries
"you may say I am a dreamer, but i'm not the only one"
http://howtoforums.net
Back to top
locobox



Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Location: WA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 10:24 pm    Post subject: RDP Seamless Reply with quote

- I have xcode installed
- Installed rdesktop in x11 just fine
- extracted seamlessrdp folder with seamlessrdpshell.exe file and dlls in the root of C:/

... when I try:

rdesktop -A -s "c:\seamlessrdp\seamlessrdpshell.exe notepad" servername

nothing happens (as far as it showing the "seamless" window with only the program running)... it opens up RDP, but no seamless window... and yes... i did change the "servername" to my server's IP and even tried it's DNS name.

I AM trying this from a mac though, so I don't know if anyone has experiences getting this to work on a mac.

Please help.
_________________
" In a mad world only the mad are sane"
Back to top
jacob
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 16 Mar 2006
Posts: 73
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 11:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as Mac goes I never tried it...

You say you extracted in c:\

do you mean c:\seamlessrdp\*dll ?

what machine OS are you trying to connect to? XP Pro ? Home, 2k3 ?

The more info you provide the better i can try to help...

JB
Back to top
Sir_Aim



Joined: 10 Feb 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
i got the same problem.

it opens only a fullscreen rd.

Client: Debian Sid
KDE 3.5.5, beryl as wm (also tried kwin - same result), rdesktop 1.5.0

Remote Server: WinXP Pro SP2
Back to top
jacob
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 16 Mar 2006
Posts: 73
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can you tell us if your Windows XP is setup for fast user switching?

(XP can be configured for this, but i highly suggest win2k3 terminal server, if possible)

JB
Back to top
vamsee



Joined: 18 Feb 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2007 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jacob wrote:
can you tell us if your Windows XP is setup for fast user switching?

(XP can be configured for this, but i highly suggest win2k3 terminal server, if possible)

JB

Hi Jacob,

Thanks for writing the instructions. I had redesktop setup without seamless but was having cursor issues when I googed and found your writeup. My cursor probem is resolved (SWCursor on) and then I tried your seamess setup instructions. They work when the server is Windows 2003 but not when it is XP SP2. I have fast user switching turned on on the XP box. It shows the full screen instead of the singe app (say notepad). If you find out any trick to get this to work with XP SP2 I 'd be very interested. My Linux is Ubuntu 6.10 Desktop (I think Edgy) (Linux 2.6.17-11)

Vamsee
Back to top
vamsee



Joined: 18 Feb 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2007 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vamsee wrote:
I have fast user switching turned on on the XP box. It shows the full screen instead of the singe app (say notepad). If you find out any trick to get this to work with XP SP2 I 'd be very interested. My Linux is Ubuntu 6.10 Desktop (I think Edgy) (Linux 2.6.17-11)

Vamsee


After some trial and error I was able to start an app on XP box by ensuring that no user is currently logged onto the XP box. However when I kill the app (say notepad) by exiting the app, the redesktop command on Linux does not return the prompt. I had to ctrl c it. After this an attempt to start a second app on XP does not work. Full desktop too does not work. It logs you in and shows a blank screen. Same behavior when you login directly at the machine. Only way out is to reboot it.
Back to top
jacob
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 16 Mar 2006
Posts: 73
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 2:51 pm    Post subject: try this... Reply with quote

if your starting the rdesktop from a prompt, give this a shot...

Code:

nohup rdesktop <your options> &


JB
Back to top
vamsee



Joined: 18 Feb 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 4:39 am    Post subject: tsclient Reply with quote

I also found a program called tsclient (sudo apt-get install tsclient) that seems to have all the functionality of a Windows XP Remote Desktop Client.
Back to top
grep65535



Joined: 05 Mar 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2007 10:11 am    Post subject: hm Reply with quote

I'm doing this using a dedicated computer for the Win2k3 OS, problem is when i execute rdesktop from my fedora and my ubuntu boxes, it just does nothing it seems.

I'm not sure what I'm doing incorrectly, I've tried using 2x and seamlessrdpshell, neither seem to work for some reason. Now, am I going to have to register Terminal Service Licenses to get this working? cuz I have a real Win2k3 but no TS licenses.

You might have an updated way of doing this by now, but alas for some reason I'm unable to even get a full desktop, let alone a single app.

I did get this working a month ago using Win2k3 in VMware on the same machine, but I would think that >where< the win2k3 is located shouldn't matter. I don't run it on the same machine because some of them only have 512MB, and that's rough.

any help's appreciated
Back to top
jacob
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 16 Mar 2006
Posts: 73
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2007 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi grep65535,
Yeah, well... definitely getting rdesktop to work normally before anything would be your first target...
Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Fedora, etc....rdesktop should work once installing the rdesktop package with its dependencies from the distro's original repos.
Could you have missed installing a package?
try this:
Code:

apt-get install rdesktop -s

that will show you if you have it installed and/or packages that should come with it.
If it is installed already, try this:
Code:

dpkg-reconfigure rdesktop

once, again...you need to get the regular rdesktop working before anything.

Regarding the "physical" location of the Win2k3 TSV...it does not make any difference whether it is Virtual or not, and i would highly recommend Virtual anyhow, as VMware is a perfect infrastructure for hosting Terminal Servers.


Hope that helped,
Jacob
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    HowToForums.net Forum Index -> Linux Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group